Becoming a Carpenter

My dad was an amazing woodworker.  He could dream up anything and make it a reality.  He was meticulously precise with his work – a true perfectionist.  I don’t think I realized how particular he was about getting everything right down to the smallest detail when I was a kid.  I guess I just assumed that everyone took that much pride in their work.  I see now that my dad is the reason that I am so nit-picky about doing things the right way (although my mom also has incredibly high standards as well).  Anyway, the point is that I recently decided that I need hobby and my boys got me the greatest birthday gift – a Craftsman compound miter saw.  I wish my dad was around to give me some pointers and advice, but I’m determined to learn some carpentry skills and start building!

I got started on my first project over the weekend.  I’m building a 7′ bench to house my saw.  So far I have all of my wood cut, but I’m stuck waiting for a Kreg jig to arrive from Amazon.  It was supposed to arrive on Friday, but UPS lost it somewhere in Spokane.  Amazon is overnighting another jig today so once it arrives, I can drill all of the pocket holes and start assembling.  I’m so excited, I can hardly stand it.  I had to laugh on Friday afternoon – I had a cart full of lumber exiting Home Depot and I kept getting stares from people.  One old guy said “Looks like a lot of work!” as we passed each other in the parking lot.  I guess it’s not every day guys see a girl loading up a pick up truck with building materials.  In all honesty, it doesn’t bother me a bit.  I enjoy not being a stereotypical girl.  Don’t get me wrong – I love to cook and sew, but I grew up shooting guns, riding a motorcycle and getting dirty.  I enjoy pushing and breaking boundaries and I’m grateful to have a husband and family that support my dreams and crazy ideas. Wish me luck with this first project – pictures of the finished product to come!

The awesome Craftsman sliding compound miter saw the boys got me for my birthday and my new Ryobi tools! Time to get building...

The awesome Craftsman sliding compound miter saw the boys got me for my birthday and my new Ryobi tools! Time to get building…

The inspiration for my first project from the girls at Shanty 2 Chic. I hope mine looks even close to this good. :)

The inspiration for my first project from the girls at Shanty 2 Chic. I hope mine looks even close to this good. 🙂

One thought on “Becoming a Carpenter

Leave a Reply

