Bedroom Makeover

My family moved into our new home about 2 1/2 years ago, and since that time we have been surrounded by cream colored walls.¬† “Bunny Cake” is the official paint name, which I find hilarious and a lot more fun than the color actually is.¬† Who comes up with this stuff anyway?¬† I digress…

Recently, my 6 year old son started sleeping in the guest room across the hall from his room.¬† It’s quieter because it doesn’t share a wall with the TV in our living room.¬† He’s been asking if he could switch rooms and just happened to be spending this week with my parents – perfect time for a bedroom transformation!

We live in the Pacific Northwest where nature abounds.¬† We love to spend time outside, biking, fishing, swimming and my son’s new favorite outdoor activity – hunting.¬† Right now he “hunts” empty cans with a BB gun, but he likes to go for hikes with his grandpa looking for turkeys too.¬† I decided an outdoorsy / hunting theme would be quite fitting for him.

I found some great ideas on Houzz.com and decided to paint a mountain mural to bring the outdoors in.¬† To make the 3 different mountain range colors, I¬†used some leftover “Bunny Cake”¬†paint and mixed it¬†with the Valspar Signature paint¬†in Jekyll Club Veranda Blue I used on the other 3 walls.¬† P.S. – 3M makes a great Tape Applicator that saved me HUGE amounts of prep time.¬† The room went from white walls to blue with a mural in approximately 6 hours.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After the walls were finished I got to work building a poster frame and a peg board armory.¬† My son loves playing with his toy guns and light sabers so¬†I know he is going to love having them mounted to the wall.¬† As a member of the Rust-Oleum Creator’s Studio¬†site, I was lucky enough to receive 2 quarts of “Barn Red” wood stain.¬† It’s a new color¬†from Varthane that I was more than happy to try out.¬† I’m using it on both the poster frame and the armory.¬† It’s a nice pop of color contrasting with the cool blue walls and white trim.¬† If you’re a DIY’er, check their site out for great ideas and an awesome community of people.

To finish off his room, I’m adding glow-in-the-dark stars to the ceiling and sky of the mural and adding a few other outdoorsy/hunting related accessories.¬†¬† I love the deer, antelope and moose mounts I got from Hobby Lobby.¬† They have great stuff! I also picked up some antler knobs for his dresser¬†there¬†and some art for the walls.¬† My favorite art piece though is the “Hipster Deer” print I picked up from WallsNeedLove.com.¬† The glasses kind of remind me of my little man and I couldn’t resist!

Here are the before pictures:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

and the finished product:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My kiddo is one happy boy.¬† When asked what his favorite part is, he quickly said “The whole thing!”¬† Totally worth it.¬† ūüôā

Leave a Reply

